The Saskatchewan Playwrights Centre is a member-run, non-profit organization that serves the development of both Saskatchewan plays and playwrights. Our mission is to provide means for Saskatchewan playwrights to develop plays, and to ensure Saskatchewan voices are heard.

We are the only organization in the province devoted to the development of new plays. The creative works playwrights develop with us go on to be produced in theatres across Saskatchewan and beyond. From established dramatists to new writers, playwrights use SPC’s resources to help improve scripts prior to production.

The SPC is governed by the membership: Our board of directors is made up of elected members, and the board hires SPC staff, who carry out the day-to-day operations of the organization.

To learn more about our organization and how it is run, please read our Bylaws.


The Saskatchewan Playwrights Centre was founded by playwrights in 1982 as an arms-length committee of the Saskatchewan Writers Guild. Though we have always been independently incorporated and governed by our own board elected by our own membership, in 2013 we became independent from the SWG.

Our members have included some of Canada’s foremost playwrights, including Ken Mitchell, Rex Deverell, Eugene Stickland, Connie Gault, Dianne Warren, Don Kerr, Mansel Robinson, Dan MacDonald,  Kelley Jo Burke, Kenneth T. Williams, and Yvette Nolan. Work by these playwrights, developed with the support of the SPC, has been produced by theatres around the world.

We support our members and their work through offering a wide variety of programming, including our Spring Festival of New Plays, which has run each year since 1983.

As a member-run, non-profit organization, we have always relied on the energy and enthusiasm of our staff and volunteers, and the generosity of our supporters.